Bridge Restored-Week 8

Last night before the Deeper Dive of Re-routing, I had several people tell me that I was behind on my blogs!   I am a little behind, mostly because life happens and I don’t take  the time to pray about Re-routing on a strict schedule like I should.   So, this morning was the first time I got to spend  time reading all of the Scripture verses from Week 8.  Just when life starts stressing me out, I realize that God’s timing is always perfect. Week 8 is all about the Bridge being restored–about understanding why Jesus became flesh, why Jesus walked this earth among all of us, why He ate with sinners, why He died for us as sinful creatures.  He did this because of only one thing– because He loved us.  And, He still loves us, even with everything that we have done or are doing right now. He is waiting for us and those we love, not just to come back to church, but to come back to Him. There is nothing that gives God more pleasure than to see His children come back home.  His arms are wide open–waiting.

I know personally that He waits.  I know that He wants to restore bridges.  He desires to restore bridges more than we give Him credit for.  I know where I was in college and the things I was doing.  Yet, I still went to church.  When I look back, how in the world could I go to church and still continue to live the way I did? I did it because I didn’t know Jesus–I knew a building. Jesus is not a building. So, here’s the good news!  My past, my sins, actually brought me back to Jesus!  Don’t take this wrong, but I tell people all the time, that I am grateful for my past sins because they have brought me where I am today. Am I completely free from sin?  Of course not. But, now I struggle, I “wrestle”, with the Lord walking right by my side.  I am dealing with life WITH Him.  He is holding my hand.  He is holding me close.  I promise you He is not just doing this for me–He wants to do this for all of us.

This last year, God has personally brought “doors” in my life, both in prayer, and, in reality, and even in several different visions that I wish I would have written down now.  I know God has been talking to me, but, this morning, I feel like I received confirmation about what  He has been trying to say to me.  I have much to share on this, but right now,  let me say that I have had doors of mercy, I have had closed doors, I have had open doors–I even have had troubles with doors.  Until this morning,  I have only thought about these doors as circumstances or things that I am supposed to do or not do, until I read John 10:7-11.  “So, Jesus again said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, I AM THE DOOR of the sheep.  All who came before me are thieves and robbers, but the sheep did not heed them.  I AM THE DOOR: if any one enters by me, he will be saved, and will go in and out and find pasture. The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I came that they may have life, and have it abundantly.”   How often have we heard the last part of this passage?   Today, God wanted me to hear the beginning of that passage as well.  And, I think he wanted me to share this.    All of us have the opportunity to come back to Jesus, and  all of us have opportunities to bring Jesus to others.  Doors do several things:  They give us access, they can protect us, they can lead us home or they can keep us locked away. Don’t be afraid of Jesus, as the Door.  He doesn’t want us to live in fear of Him–he wants to give us access to Himself and He wants to protect us from the lies of the devil.  It is never to late to allow Jesus to restore  our bridges and to bring us Home.

Heavenly Father,

Thank you, thank you, thank you for constantly being there.  You are always present.  Always.  I am grateful for the peace that only you can bring.  Today I am reminded that I need to be  more attentive to your workings in my life and to constantly dig deeper.  Thank you for the people you have put in my life. Thank you for the open doors, the closed doors, and your doors of mercy.  I love you, Jesus. You continue to show me what love is.  Thank you for the mercy that you have always extended to me.  Let me always be merciful to those who need it most. Help me to be a “door” to others so that through me, people will come to know You. Amen.

 

 

 

One thought on “Bridge Restored-Week 8

  1. Angela…I am so grateful to God for finding Fr. John on Catholic radio. I have learned so much about Jesus through him and the wonderful programs at OLGC. Thank you for your blog, I enjoy reading this each week and for reminding me that Jesus is in my boat and at my door!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

