Week 9-You-Turn

Blogging about Re-routing has forced me to look at these past 9 weeks and look at myself in ways that have stretched me. It is so easy to go through the motions of this life. If you want to live this life as an intentional Christian, it is impossible to just go through the motions and be successful. The Christian life is hard. It involves a decision. My will makes it hard. Every day it is hard because of the world we live in. I was talking to someone after daily Mass last week and she said that when you follow Jesus your family tends to think you are crazy and that there is something wrong with you because you need Jesus so bad. I can totally relate. Honestly, it would be much easier to live the way the world wants me to live–to just soak up all the good times I can, to not worry about whether I am going to heaven or hell, to live for myself, to only worry about the next restaurant I am going to, or the next shopping trip. That would be easy to do in this world, but it is so unfulfilling to me. I know that the world could numb me with counterfeit relationships, and material pleasures, but I want so much more. There is not true happiness living this way. I often hear this in prayer–“You can do this the world’s way, or you can do it MY WAY.” Fr. Prentice challenged us in his homily to surrender to Jesus unconditionally “no fine print, no hidden clauses.” We were given cards to make a commitment to surrender our lives to Jesus. I get what Fr. Prentice said, “Love cannot be forced. We have free will-that’s the way love works.” No one will force us to turn in a card. No one can force us to love, just as no one can force us to be wicked. We can decide. Will I turn in my card? I will because I believe in the love of a heavenly Father that is pure and true. I believe He wants what is best for me, and, I believe He allows me to struggle so I might grow. I don’t want to go through the motions of life–I want to be intentional and I want to surrender.

At an Alpha course that we have for engaged couples in our parish, we talked this week about how God guides us. One thing I felt compelled to share with these couples is that there are actually 3 people in this relationship-the man, the woman, and God. When a couple can surrender to each other in goodness and surrender to God at the same time, life is good. There is peace. I know this from experience. Does it mean that there are no challenges in life? Of course not! It just means that there is Someone walking the path with me–always–who is loving and merciful, who knows all my pains and wounds and who wants me to be happy. That’s exciting and it is worth the struggles because when you desire what is real, and what it is pure, there is an interior freedom that comes from living in union with God.

Tonight I pray that we will all choose, even if it is for the first time, to make that U-turn and to give all of ourselves to God.

Dear Lord,

Another day with moments of grace and moments of weakness. Some days I wish I wasn’t so aware of Your Presence because I am so often convicted of my sin. But when I sit in front of the Blessed Sacrament and you take me as I am, with all of my sins and failings, I get rejuvenated with the love you have for me. Your Spirit fills me when I live in accord with you. Help me to always choose to live in union with you and when I don’t, help me to recover quickly, because I can’t bear to not be near you and close to you. My days go better when I am aware of you. I realize how often I can get lazy when life gets overwhelming or when I don’t start the day with you on my mind and heart.

Tonight, in a very special way, I ask for the intercession of Mary, our Mother, to pray for all of the engaged couples in our Alpha group. May Mary show them the way to your Son as the reason for hope in marriages in this world. May they receive courage to withstand the temptations of the culture. I ask all of this your great name. Amen

4 thoughts on “Week 9-You-Turn

  1. The voice of Jesus is what we should listen to – not the voice of an accuser.

    Poem – Looking forward (Rocky)

    Jesus never calls us out
    For what we used to be.
    His voice is so much greater
    Than paul the Pharisee.

    “You are Simon son of John”
    said Jesus, without elaboration.
    No mention of a cloudy past
    No hint of condemnation.

    No accusation against the brothers
    No comments dark and obscure,
    Writing to the Church in Corinth
    “that is what some of you were.”

    Not the voice of the accuser,
    Boss Paul the Pharisee,
    Telling the redeemed people of God
    About what they used to be.

    Jesus never said right is wrong,
    He never said wrong is right.
    He came so we can turn from darkness
    And into His glorious light.

    “Neither do I condemn you” said Jesus,
    to a woman entrapped by dogs.
    The game the dogs play is the same today,
    Except now they do it on blogs.

    “Go and sin no more” said Jesus,
    Don’t relive that history.
    Look forward, not back, don’t dwell on your past.
    “You will be called” Rocky.

    Like

  2. Found this blog in the middle of the night as a huge storm rushed through Texas. I prayed for safety then looked to the newscasters for confirmation. Yeah, the trust thing got me.

    So this old Texas girl found this blog when searching for affirmation that God was with me at this moment. I thank the Holy Spirit for working through you because my journey through Lent has me flipping around my compass to the point I don’t know what’s North anymore. You provided some direction on this stormy night.

    Today’s bad weather is passing, and I just hear the cleansing rain . Thank you for your open and humble heart on this “trip” as you helped point me on the right path after a truly stormy time. I’ll keep reading and will be praying for you…

    Like

    1. Thank you for your comments. I am praying for you right now. God is so good. He gives us what we need at the right moment if we are open to Him. I understand what you are saying about Lent. Every year for me Lent seems to be a challenge so I try to look at it as a opportunity from God for me to grow in areas I thought I was doing okay! Please pray for me as well. We are truly the Body of Christ and we all need each other. God bless your day!

      Like

    2. …” you helped point me on the right path…”

      Jesus is the right path – the Most excellent way – and HIS words are sure.

      Jesus was asked twice which Commandment is the greatest or most important one, (Matthew 22 and Mark 12)
      Both times Jesus answered quoting the same two commandments, from the Law of Moses.

      Jesus said that one of these two commandments is the first and greatest most important one. Which one is it? The one in Deuteronomy 6:4-5, or the one in Leviticus 19:18 ?

      “The most important one,” answered Jesus, “ is this: ‘Hear, O Israel, the Lord our God, the Lord is one. Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.’ [Mark 12:29-30, Deuteronomy 6:4-5]

      Jesus replied: “’Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment.” [Matthew 22:37-38, Deuteronomy 6:5]

      Poem – What is love?

      Two men came to Jesus
      With different motivations.
      They asked Him the same question
      Relevant to all the nations:

      Which is the Most Important?
      The answer was the same.
      Jesus did not manipulate
      He was not there to play a game.

      “Love the Lord your God” said Jesus
      as He quoted from The Law –
      to fulfill and not abolish
      was His purpose, full of awe.

      Jesus did not make all Scripture
      Into one new great commandment.
      He summarized The Law and Prophets
      “First and Greatest” and “The Second.”

      The Love of God is higher
      Than the love of any man.
      Receive from God, give back to God-
      Then to others, that’s His plan.

      The Love of God involves much more
      Than simply “love your fellow man.”
      Worship, trust, and pray to God,
      and obey Him – that’s His plan

      To worship and pray to neighbors,
      Whoever they may be,
      Or trust and obey our enemies
      Would be idolatry.

      The love of God is first and greatest,
      And the love of man is second.
      “All we need is love” are words
      of dead Beetles on the pavement.

      “The entire law is summed up in a single command”
      are not the words of Jesus our Salvation.
      It’s false teaching of Paul the Pharisee
      an “accuser of our brethren.”

      “Love” without God is Satan’s word through Paul
      in his chapter to the Corinthians.
      “I will show you the most excellent way”
      is the road to eternal perdition.

      Where is God in Paul’s chapter on love?
      Nowhere in view of the eye.
      Paul sings about himself like a Mexican Mariachi
      “I, I, I, I.”

      Jesus is The Most Excellent Way
      Not the words of a Pharisee.
      The words of Jesus are very clear.
      Jesus said, “You must follow ME.”

      Like

Leave a Reply

