Week 12-Border Crossing

“Let love be sincere; hate what is evil, hold on to what is good; love one another with mutual affection; anticipate one another in showing honor.  Do not grow slack in zeal, be fervent in spirit, serve the Lord. Rejoice in hope, endure in affliction, persevere in prayer.” — Romans 12:9-12

Let love be sincere” This passage has been on my mind all week, although, I didn’t really know it. This was one of those weeks for me that was filled with a-ha moments, or God moments as I like to call them. One of these moments was last night watching the Passion of Christ at our church. Last time I watched the Passion of Christ, I was very focused on all that Jesus was enduring for me as a sinner, but as I watched it yesterday, I viewed it through the eyes of a mother, through Mary.  Perhaps all this talk of border crossing had me focused on Mary’s great trust in the Father and the amazing love she had for her son.   I could see the agony in Mary’s eyes as she watched her son being scourged, watched her son fall, watched her son suffer unimaginable pain and torture-“hate what is evil”  Yet, I also sensed an inner peace in her, a surrender that abandoned all control to our heavenly Father..“hold onto what is good”  

Often, it is uncomfortable to cross the border because we are afraid of what might be on the other side.  Maybe we are afraid of losing control of our life. Maybe we are afraid of what others will think of us.   As much as we think we know ourselves, God knows us better because he made us. He knows what we desire and what we need.  He gave those needs to us. He knows what I need and I trust Him.  Trusting God doesn’t mean I don’t do anything–trusting God means I actually might have to do things that make me uncomfortable. I actually might have to cross the border!  Trust can be hard  because we have all had human experiences that have weakened our ability to trust. “There is no fear in trust”—this is what I keep hearing and have been praying with all week. Through all the suffering that her son endured, Mary trusted.  From the day she immaculately conceived, she trusted. Till the day of the death of her son because of our sins, she trusted.

I long for that kind of trust. And I long for that kind of merciful love and sacrifice of Jesus within me. This Holy Week is like no other for me for many reasons. May this Holy Week be like no other for each of you so that we may all truly understand what love has done for us and the cost of that love to a Mother.  Our Lady of  Good Counsel, pray for us.

Lord,  I am so sorry for the times that I have not trusted in your love for me.  I am sorry for the times that I have withheld love from others.  There are only three things I want out of this life–to live in love, to live without fear and to prepare to spend eternity with you.   I know the only way I can do this is to “cross the border” and trust in you completely with reckless abandon. I know your love for me is sincere–there are no masks. Lord, you sent your Son  to pay the ultimate price for my sins. With arms wide open, He became vulnerable on the cross for me.  Lord, teach me to be vulnerable and open to the love of Jesus.  Mary, guide me through your Son and help me to show my children this sacrificial love. Jesus, you have re-routed my life for the better and have put me on a path that you have chosen for me.  You know what I am afraid of and yet I trust. Allow the Holy Spirit to enter me like never before.  Thank you, God.  Jesus I trust in you. Amen

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

